A COUNTY OF SANTA CLARA
e Behavioral Health Services

CANS Certification and Re-certification Policy

Certification and Re-certification
1) Attend live CANS training or participate in the online training https://www.schoox.com/login.php
2) Pass the online certification test with a score of .70 or higher on one or more of the following tools utilized in the
County of Santa Clara:
a. CANS: Comprehensive 5+

b. CANS: Early Childhood
3) Annual re-certification is required by the anniversary date of previous CANS certification. CANS should not be used if

your certification has expired. For any support needs with the training website, please email
support@TCOMtraining.com . County personnel are unable to help with the training & certification website.

It is the responsibility of the program or agency to track certification status.
Staff are not to complete a CANS without current certification.

Trainings & Testing

e Attend a live CANS training through:
» Learning Partnership/County of Santa Clara BHSD
» Have an in-house trainer provide live training (see below for trainer qualifications)

NOTE: Following any live training, attendees must then test online at https://www.schoox.com/login.php . A coupon code is
required to become certified.

GENERAL CANS Use

e Access to general online training, certification & re-certification tests for Santa Clara County is obtained by purchasing
coupon codes from the Praed Foundation/University of Kentucky Center for Innovation in Population Health. Codes are
$15 per individual payment or $12 per person per group payment (5 or more) for an annual subscription (as of 7/1/21).

» Coupon codes are purchased by contacting Roselynn Ryan roselynn.ryan@uky.edu . When contacting Joy for
coupons, please be sure and provide the following information:
e Jurisdiction Name (California--Santa Clara County)
e Agency Name
e Number of codes needed
e Method of Payment (credit card or check)
> Users enter a new code when they recertify. If they are not being prompted to enter a code when they go to
recertify, then they are recertifying too early. New codes are required annually. It is the responsibility of the
program or agency to purchase coupons for their staff.

Trainer Certification & Re-Certification Steps

1) Pass the CANS certification test with a score of .80 or higher;
a. Score of .80 is required on all variations of the CANS that the trainer will be training on, such as:
e CANS: Comprehensive 5+
e CANS: Early Childhood
2) Attend two-day Train-the-Trainer workshop;
3) In addition to participating in the workshop, within 2 weeks submit to University of Kentucky trainer:
a. articulate an introduction to TCOM and the CANS to be delivered to clients and their families;
b. develop examples of the Six Key Principles of a communimetric tool;
c. develop CANS domain level mini vignettes to help in identification of specific domain items and determine

action levels;
d. develop and submit one original vignettes with recommended action levels and rationale using the CANS;

e. develop a treatment plan using the corresponding action levels from the trainer developed vignette.

CANS Trainers

4) Once certified, all trainers will be provided access to the Certified Trainer site on CANStraining.com.

5) Certified Trainers are to re-certify annually via the online test to maintain their trainer status. Certified Trainer annual
re-certification requires CANS reliability score of .80.

6) Attendance at the annual TCOM Conference once every 2-3 years is highly recommended to remain current.
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