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State headlight law tied to use of wipers

By Amy Oakes
STAFF WRITER

California drivers soon will
have to flip on their headlights
when the weather is wet
enough that their wiper blades
are in constant motion.

The concept might be new
for some drivers, so they have
six months to start the new
habit. The law goes into effect
July 1.

"It's not something very
difficult,” said California High-
way Patrol Officer Lorenzo
Ruano. "It's just people getting
used to it."

The law states that drivers
of all motor vehicles, except
motorcycles, must turn on
their headlights when they use
their windshield wipers in rain,
mist, snow, fog or other
precipitation. Headlights also
must be turned on when
drivers cannot clearly see a
person or vehicle 1,000 feet
away.

Ruano said many new
vehicles have lights that are
automatically on when the
engine is running. Those
drivers will not need to turn on
their headlights when their
windshield wipers are on.

As for enforcement, Ruano
said, it will be at the officers'
discretion. "If it's raining, the
officer will probably be doing
other stuff," he said.

Violators will be cited.
Ruano said the penalty will be
determined by the courts.

The rain this week caused
many traffic problems. On
Tuesday, 243 collisions were
reported in San Diego County
between midnight and 10 p.m.,
the CHP said. That number
included only accidents on
freeways and unincorporated
roads under the CHP's
jurisdiction.

Ruano said drivers should
use common sense if they have
doubts about whether to turn
on their headlights and
windshield wipers. If the
majority of vehicles are using
their wipers, he said, "you
should probably have yours
on."

"l probably would have
done it automatically,"” said
Darlene La Madrid as she left
the AAA office in Chula Vista.
"It never occurred to me that it
would be a law."

The 69-year-old Chula
Vista resident said that
although she didn't know about
the new law, she wouldn't have
to change her habits. The lights
on her 2002 Buick Park
Avenue turn on when she starts
the engine.

The law was written by
former  Assemblyman  Joe
Simitian, D-Palo Alto. Simitian
iSs now a state senator
representing District 11, which

includes San Mateo, Santa
Clara and Santa Cruz counties.

Simitian said the law was
proposed by two women in his
district who submitted ideas in
his annual "It Ought to be a
Law" contest. His Assembly
district includes all or part of
13 cities in San Mateo and
Santa Clara counties.

Simitian held the contest
for three years, usually picking
a few entries to become
proposed legislation. Six bills
from those contests have
become laws.

"It's  everyday  people
coming up with everyday
solutions,” Simitian said.

He said he wasn't enthu-
siastic about the headlights
proposal at first. But after he
did some research, he found
that at least a dozen other
states required the wuse of
headlights when windshield
wipers are on.

"There's a demonstrable
improvement in highway safety
during inclement weather,” he
said.

Simitian met with trans-
portation officials and the CHP
to discuss the concept. Having
the law go into effect in July,
he said, gives drivers time to
get used to the practice.

"The goal is not for
everyone to get a ticket,” he
said. "The goal is for everyone
to drive safely."”
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Headlight
law

Benefits
of new rule
are easy
to spot

REDUCTION IN CRASHES
MEANS RAINY WEATHER
WILL BE FAR LESS NASTY

Wacky weather splattered
the Bay Area with everything
from hail to funnel -clouds
through late spring. Thunder-
storms shed monsoon-like
rains. Since last July, 24.27
inches of rain have drenched
San Jose — nearly 10 inches
more than normal.

Today, in the midst of a newly
arrived heat wave, a California
law geared to driving in inclem-
ent weather goes into effect.
The new code states that driv-
ers of all motor vehicles, except

motorcycles, must turn on their
headlights when they use their
windshield wipers in rain, mist,
snow, fog or other precipitation.

Break the rule and you face a
ticket and fine of up to $96. Like
most new legislation, this bill
could have gone into effect
Jan. 1, when the rainy season
was really getting under way.
But Sen. Joe Simitian, D-Palo
Alto, the bill's author, says he
wanted to give the public ample
time to adjust to the new law —
especially since it’s a ticketable
offense.

Now that we've adjusted,
let’s review why this is a good
law. According to statistics
from the National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration,
headlights help reduce the risk
of both fatal and non-fatal
crashes. About 58 percent of fa-
tal crashes and 42 percent of all
crashes in the United States oc-
cur at night or when visibility is
reduced.

The aim of the law as Simi-
tian sees it is simple: to save
lives. Now, if we can just re-
member the law when the
weather turns nasty again.



