YOUR RIGHTS

as a Survivor of Sexual Assault

State of California Victim Compensation
Program

e The California Victim Compensation Pro-
gram (CalVCP) can help pay bills and ex-
penses that result from certain violent
crimes. Survivors of crime who have been
injured or have been threatened with in-
jury may be eligible for help. CalVCP Help-
line: 800-777-9229 (phone) 866-902-8669
(fax)

e Contact: The Santa Clara County District
Attorney’s Office Victim Services Unit at:
(408) 295-2656.

NOTE: You may have to take part in the
criminal case to qualify for CalVCB.

e You have a right to have a confidential
sexual assault counselor (Victim Advo-
cate) and a support person of your
choice present during any exam or in-
vestigative interview. However, the sup-
port person may be excluded by law en-
forcement or the district attorney if it is
determined to be detrimental to the
interview. (Penal Code 679.04)

A survivor’s immigration status does not
affect their right to advocacy services and
these services are offered at no cost to the
survivor.

Gaxual assault medical forensic exanh
are available through:

Santa Clara County
(408) 885-5000

Exam Locations:
Valley Medical Center - San Jose
Stanford University Medical Center

Palo Alto

You can reach a Sexual Assault Advocate
24 hours a day by calling Rape Crisis centers:
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Survivor Resources in Santa Clara County

Children’s Advocacy Center 408-885-6460
District Attorney’s Office 408-299-7400
CAN Center/CPS Reporting Line 833-722-5437
Victim Services Unit 408-295-2656

SEXUAL ASSAULT SURVIVOR’S

BILL OF RIGHTS

You have rights. You have the right to get
answers, the right to information, and a right
to know. This card explains your rights, op-
tions, and helpful resources available to you
under California Penal Code 680.2.

You are not required to participate in the crim-
inal justice system to receive a medical eviden-
tiary examination.

You Decide
It’s your choice to:
e Get a physical exam
e Be part of a criminal case

Date:

Police Report No.:

Officer & Badge:

Agency:

Phone #:

Survivors of sexual assault and/or domestic
violence are encouraged to report abuse to
local police departments.

Local police departments are not ICE and

you will not be reported to ICE as a survivor
of sexual assault or domestic violence.
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YOUR RIGHTS

as a Survivor of Sexual Assault

You Have the Right To:

e Request a person with a gender of your
choosing to be present in the room during
any interview with law enforcement or the
District Attorney.

Request in writing and receive a free copy of
the initial crime report.

Seek an Emergency Protection Order to help
keep you safe. Ask a law enforcement officer
if you would like one.

Seek a Civil Protection Order with the sup-
port of a sexual assault counselor OR at the
Family Justice Center at: 408-534-5600 or
https://www.scscourt.org/self help restrain-
ing/rohc.shtml

Know that DNA evidence on the body may
last from 12 hours to 7 days. DNA and other
evidence can breakdown over time due to
exposure to heat, water, and other materi-
als.

Know the evidence related to your assault
will be tested. By law, evidence should be
taken to the Crime Lab within 20 days of
booking and tested within 120 days of
receipt or no later than 2 years from the
date of the (last) offense.

Know that evidence related to your assault
must be kept for 20 years, or until age 40 for
victims under age 18.

Ask the status and results of the testing of
all evidence related to your assault. For re-
sults contact the law enforcement agency
investigating your case.
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Sexual Assault Forensic Evidence
Tracking (SAFE-T)

Contact the California Attorney General’s
Victims’ Services Unit for a general location
and status of rape kit based on data en-
tered into the SAFE-T database.
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Call or look up offender information here:
Santa Clara County Jail Booking
408-299-2306
or
https://eservices.sccgov.org/OVR/
FindlInmate/Find

Sex offender registry information can be
found online on Megan’s Law or by contacting
the CA Dept. of Justice.

Request, in writing, sex offender registry in-
formation from the prosecutor, if your assail-
ant is convicted and required to register as a

sex offender.

SCAN TO ACCESS

VINElink

https:/ /vinelink.com

VINEmobile is an app which allows victims to
register to receive information regarding the
custody status of offenders 24-hours a day.
Victims and citizens can register to be noti-
fied by phone, email, text message (where
applicable) or TTY device when an offender’s
custody status changes. The app is available
through Google Play and the Apple iStore.

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

South Bay Coalition to End Human
Trafficking Victim Support Services

©

SCAN FOR HUMAN
TRAFFICKING SUPPORT

SERVICES

https:/ /southbayendtrafficking.org/

The Coalition coordinates with law enforcement
and victim service providers to help identify sur-
vivors of trafficking and exploitation to ensure
they are connected to services, including hous-
ing assistance, legal services, and safety plan-
ning.

Report Online Child Sexual Abuse

SCAN TO MAKE A

CYBERTIPLINE
REPORT

https:/ /report.cybertip.org

The National Center for Missing & Exploited
Children’s (NCMEC) CyberTipline is the na-
tion’s centralized reporting system for the
online exploitation of children.



